Crowd Pleasers: Potato Bake

I have a friend who loves potato bake. Actually, I have lots of friends who love potato bake however this particular friend (she will know who I’m talking about) always tells me she can’t make it the way I do. Pfft!

The hard part, I guess, is there is no set recipe. Having said that, you only need potatoes, onions, cream and grated tasty cheese and you make it to suit the number of people you are catering for.

I don’t profess to be a creative cook. I will follow a recipe to the letter, the first time, and then modify it to suit our taste and that’s how I get to call it my own.

I don’t think Potato Bake belongs to any one person. My Step Mother made it a lot when I was growing up. Our friend Dave, from Bredbo, makes a version of it. My children make it when they have a crowd over for a BBQ. It really is a throw together side dish, and a delicious one at that.

Here’s the recipe. Enjoy!

Potato Bake

Potatoes

Onions

Thickened Cream

Grated Tasty

Yep. What now?

The quantities of ingredients will depend on the number of people you are feeding.

Let’s assume I have 4-6 people coming over for a BBQ. I would use a pie dish unless I was feeding teenage boys and then I would have to upsize.

Peel and slice one medium sized onion and set aside.

Peel and thinly slice 3 to 4 medium sized potatoes. You can always peel and slice more if you need them.

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celsius fan forced. Spray your pie dish with oil. You will thank me later when it’s time for doing the dishes.

Put a single layer of potato in the pie dish, slightly overlapping each piece.

Sprinkle some onion rings over your layer of potato.

Keep alternating layers of potato and onion until you have reached the top of your pie dish making sure you finish with a layer of potato.

For a pie dish sized potato bake, I would use 300 ml of thickened cream. Pour over the top.

You have a couple of options at this point.

wp_20160827_12_49_17_pro

Option 1: Sprinkle with the grated tasty (as much as you like) and place in the oven for 45  to 60 mins.

Option 2 (my preference): Place foil over the top and place the potato bake in the oven for 45 mins. After this time, remove the foil, sprinkle with the grated tasty and place back in the oven for 15 mins or until cheese is melted and is golden brown.

Serve. Enjoy!

Mrs D x

Tips

Place your potato bake on a tray as it tends to bubble over the sides. I hate cleaning the oven.

If you upsize the size of your potato bake, obviously you will need to increase all of your ingredients accordingly.

Stick a fork in half way through the cooking time. Every oven is different and there is nothing worse than eating uncooked potato.

wp_20160827_10_34_55_pro

 

Use sweet potato in every other layer for a low GI alternative.

Use light cream and light grated tasty to reduce the calorie content.

 

 

 

Published by

Mrs D

I live with my Husband Mr D on 100 acres in the Snowy Mountains region of NSW. This blog is about our life together. We have 2 adult children (they don't live at home anymore) who I will refer to for the time being as B1 and B2 (references to Bananas in Pyjamas). Feel free to visit often.

Leave a Reply

