Monday Naanday

WP_20160606_14_38_36_Pro

It’s Monday again and the day has gone a bit like this.

Due to all the rain we have had (150 mm so far), the driveway was a mess, I couldn’t distinguish the poo from the mud (pooey mud or muddy poo) in the piggy pen, my boots became saturated (and probably had a layer of poo attached to them) and we had something that resembled a Chinese laundry happening in the lounge room.

Brinny, the Blue Heeler cross, popped over from one of the properties over the back to harass Panda. She is a sweet dog, in a naughty and annoying puppy kind of way, however is known to have killed a chook (not ours) so I’ve just kept an eye on her. Panda was not impressed.

Over the weekend, it seems I pinched a nerve (or something) behind my shoulder blade. It could have been caused from digging in the garden (which is now mostly dead except for garlic, tree onions and pumpkins) or it could have been from helping Mr D with the fencing on Friday. Whatever the cause, it pretty much rendered me useless yesterday (I watched 4 movies in a row which is unheard of for me) so today I was very careful not to overdo it (orders from Mr D). No movies today though.

My injury and the continuous rain left me limited to what I could achieve today (aside from feeding animals and necessary tasks) so I googled uses for old tyres (there is a huge pile of them that were here when we bought the place and they cost $6 each to tip) and thought I’d post about Naan bread.

Naan is a flat bread. It’s pretty easy and is a delicious side to your favourite curry. You can eat it plain or flavoured. We like to pan fry them in a garlic butter.

The last time I made a batch of these, I froze two-thirds of the dough (something I haven’t done before). They froze well and cooked perfectly after defrosting. Just ensure that they are wrapped well to stop them drying out.

Garlic Naan (served here with a Massaman Curry)

1 1/2 cups warm milk

1/2 teaspoon yeast

1 teaspoon sugar

1 teaspoon salt

3 1/2 cups plain flour

50 grams butter

2 to 3 crushed garlic cloves (2 to 3 teaspoons minced garlic)

I make most of my dough in the bread maker. This way I can do something else in the meantime.

Place milk in the bread maker, add the flour, sugar, salt and lastly the yeast. Select the dough setting and press start. It will take about 1 1/2 hours depending on your machine.

Once the bread maker is finished, remove the dough, knead for about 30 seconds on a lightly floured surface and then place in a large bowl. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and a tea towel and place in a warm spot to rise. Try and leave for at least two hours.

 

Remove the dough from the bowl, punch with your fist and lightly knead again on a floured surface. Divide the dough into 12 balls (or smaller if desired). Using a lightly floured rolling-pin, roll each ball flat. Cook Naan in a hot dry fry pan with the lid on. The bread will puff up. When they start to brown, flip them. Remove to a plate until ready for the garlic butter.

WP_20160503_19_04_10_Proa

In the same fry pan, melt the butter. Add the garlic and cook for a minute or two. Fry each of your Naan breads in the garlic butter, turning once. Wrap in foil to keep hot. Serve.

Yum! Enjoy. Mrs D x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

Mrs D

I live with my Husband Mr D on 100 acres in the Snowy Mountains region of NSW. This blog is about our life together. We have 2 adult children (they don't live at home anymore) who I will refer to for the time being as B1 and B2 (references to Bananas in Pyjamas). Feel free to visit often.

Leave a Reply

