Family, Friends and Food – A Perfect Combination

We had our annual Christmas get together with the ‘locals’ this weekend. I think about how long we have known these people and I can’t get over how fast the years have flown. The oldest of the children (collective) is now 23 years old and the youngest two are 15 years old. They have all grown up together. WE have all grown up together.

Now when I say locals, these are people who have moved into this area just as we did and we have all connected. Either through being neighbours, or children going to school together or just friends of friends who have stuck.

Anyway, our get together is a simple enough affair. Great company, great food and always plenty to talk and laugh about. ‘Dinner and a show’, as they say.

Normally I would do all of the food with the help of a friend. This typically involves a cooking day within cooee of the event. This year I decided to share the load.

I invited everyone to bring along their signature dish and be prepared to write a recipe and for me to take pictures and blog about it.

When I mention blogging, occasionally people will roll their eyes and I am okay with that, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea (I didn’t think it would be mine). Despite all of that, a lot of effort was put into the challenge and we all enjoyed some delicious food.

Food glorious food , Christmas CDs started before December (I’m bad) and some Christmassy adornment!

Antipasto Platter

Mexican Layered Dip

Spinach and Prawn Damper Dip

Smoked Chicken Wings- Buffalo and Honey and Soy Flavours

Kofta Skewers

Sausage Rolls- Beef and Chicken

Apple and Rhubarb Crumble

(I will add links for the recipes in the weeks leading up to Christmas).

I also did something different this year.

I was given this ‘jar’ a few years ago by my Sister in Law. We use it quite a lot over the Summer. Water, ice and lemons/ limes. I put this out for our guests and it was a hit. Refreshing water with a twist. I love simple things! Mr D’s idea.

Well, not long now until Christmas. One more day left in November and then I can put the Christmas tree up. Yay!

How are your Christmas preparations going? Have you got the menu planned for the big day?

Mrs D x

 

 

Published by

Mrs D

I live with my Husband Mr D on 100 acres in the Snowy Mountains region of NSW. This blog is about our life together. We have 2 adult children (they don't live at home anymore) who I will refer to for the time being as B1 and B2 (references to Bananas in Pyjamas). Feel free to visit often.

Leave a Reply

