Baaargain Hunting!

Mr D and I have lived here for just over seven years now and the plan was to have livestock. If you don’t have livestock on 100 acres, you spend most of the summer months weed spraying, slashing paddocks and whipper snipping. Guess what we have been doing every summer since we moved here?

Life has a funny way of butting in (Shanks style) and delaying your plans.

On Saturday, we headed out to Bredbo which is about 20 minutes north of us on the Monaro Highway. If you head to the Snowy Mountains (from the North), you will drive through Bredbo (not to be confused with Thredbo). A friend of a friend had sheep ready to go to market however was happy for us to buy some from him.

I know very little when it comes to sheep and my experience with Shanks has not made me an expert by any means. The one thing I do know is that I have no interest in the wool, I am very happy to buy that from Spotlight. It’s for that reason, a shedding breed was definitely important. Until recently, I didn’t know such a thing existed so sheep were not even on the radar.

Another thing I know is that sheep really are silly. They are driven by the most basic things and like most animals, these things are innate. Survival would have to be at the top of the list. Sheep that haven’t had substantial human contact are just plain scared and will climb over the top of each other to get away from you, unlike Shanks of course, who will try to take down glass doors to hang out with you.

Shanks is a Dorper crossed with Damara, two varieties of sheep that are bred for meat, shed their wool and cope with the Alpine climate. The ones we looked at on Saturday were Dorper crossed with Poll Dorset.

It’s always an experience to go to a working farm. We are hobbyists by comparison (I wouldn’t go so far to say Pitt St farmers).  You can ask me anything when it comes  to chickens and turkeys. The address we traveled to is a gazetted road however you had to open and close a gate to enter. The cattle were standing on the side of the road, no fences, chewing their cud and spectating.

These cattle belonged to our friends who we were following. You can tell they have been handled. Thankfully there was a fence, as I was in danger of having slobber all over my mobile trying to take their picture.

We reached our destination and met Mark the farmer and, of course, the girls. Unfortunately Mark was unwilling to pose for the camera. Mark did however ask the obvious question. “When do you want them?”

Now because I’m a ‘buy the shoes and then find an outfit to match’ kind of girl, we had to explain to Mark that we would need to erect some decent fences before we could take them. So you know what the next very pressing project will be……you got it, fences.

The list is long….

What’s next on your list? Needs or wants? Let me know.

Mrs D x

Published by

Mrs D

I live with my Husband Mr D on 100 acres in the Snowy Mountains region of NSW. This blog is about our life together. We have 2 adult children (they don't live at home anymore) who I will refer to for the time being as B1 and B2 (references to Bananas in Pyjamas). Feel free to visit often.

2 thoughts on “Baaargain Hunting!”

  1. If I lived a few thousand miles closer, I’d help you with the fence. 😉 I have to be honest, I looked up whipper snipping. Made me giggle at the sound of it. Found that it’s equivalent to our “weed whacking”. Good luck finding your fencing.

    BTW those sheep faces are adorable. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

