Cream of Asparagus Soup

I hated asparagus as a kid. I don’t think I even tried it because I couldn’t stand the look of it in the tin. Mum bought the tinned stuff and would eat the whole lot in one go.

Anyway, as an adult, I love it. Preferably fresh if I can buy it at a good price as it can be expensive. When I say fresh, by the time it makes it to the fruit and veg section at the supermarket it’s old, however it’s as good as it gets. Ask Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall. It is on my list of things to try and grow, as it likes the cold, however I haven’t got that far and surprisingly, there is only a small window in time when you can buy the crowns.

I stumbled across a recipe for Cream of Asparagus Soup just recently while I was looking for low calorie meal ideas. After several modifications, I think you’ll find it’s pretty easy and certainly delicious!

Cream of Asparagus Soup

olive oil or spray oil

500 grams asparagus, ends trimmed and cut into pieces

1 small onion, chopped

500 ml chicken stock

1 cup milk (can be light or skim if desired to further reduce calorific value)

1/2 cup light sour cream

Salt & pepper to taste

In a medium sized saucepan, saute the onion in a little olive oil until tender. Add the asparagus and chicken stock. Bring to a boil, then allow to simmer uncovered until the asparagus is tender.

Allow to cool. Add milk and sour cream and blitz in the food processor.

If you are not happy with the consistency, sieve, however we like the texture. When reheating, don’t allow to boil.

Easy and yum!  By the way, you can eat this cold, gazpacho style. This soup is so light, I can have 2 pieces of toast with it. Mr D likes rice cakes with his.

Be warned, your next wee will reek of essence of asparagus! I know, gross….

Soup season is on it’s way. Let me know your soup recipes.

2 thoughts on “Cream of Asparagus Soup

Leave a Reply

