Thai Beef Fillet (in the slow cooker)

Thank you to everyone for Birthday wishes!

For my Happy Birthday dinner (just Mr D and I, first birthday dinner  EVER without either of our children), I cooked Thai Beef Fillet in the slow cooker. It is so easy and so delicious, I thought I’d share. If you have read my previous posts, you know what a big fan I am of the slow cooker. Both B1 and B2 have one. It is quickly becoming my standard housewarming gift. No household should be without one!

Thai Beef Fillet

1.4 to 1.7 kg beef ( I used blade on this occasion and it was beautiful)

1 onion, chopped

1 Tsp garlic, minced (one clove, chopped, if you are so inclined)

1 Tblsp ginger, minced

1 Tblsp Thai Green Curry Paste

1 Tblsp soy sauce

1 bunch coriander, chopped coarsly

1 tin coconut milk, 400 ml

Heat some oil in a fry pan and brown the beef on all sides. Don’t skip the browning as it so important for flavour and locking in the juices. Once the beef is browned, place in the slow cooker.

Reduce the heat and add a little more oil to the pan. Saute onion, garlic and ginger for a few minutes until softened. Add curry paste and cook for a minute or so or until fragrant. Add coconut milk and bring to a gentle simmer.

Pour the mixture over the beef. Cook on high until the mixture boils and then on low for 3 1/2 to 4 hours. The cooking time will depend on your slow cooker.

Once the beef is cooked to your liking, remove from the slow cooker and allow to rest on a heated plate or tray under foil.

Add the chopped coriander to the sauce in the slow cooker. Serve the sauce with the sliced beef. Add roast veg and greens or in this case I had some left over potato bake, boiled up some peas and voila, Birthday dinner! I know, it doesn’t look so pretty on the plate however, the taste is to die for!

Got a slow cooker recipe that’s quick and easy? Let me know.

Published by

Mrs D

I live with my Husband Mr D on 100 acres in the Snowy Mountains region of NSW. This blog is about our life together. We have 2 adult children (they don't live at home anymore) who I will refer to for the time being as B1 and B2 (references to Bananas in Pyjamas). Feel free to visit often.

Leave a Reply

