Beetroot: A Thing of Beauty

Fresh beetroot pickled at home cannot be beaten. The taste is so sweet and earthy and the colour…..OMG! It is just a thing of beauty. You will never eat store bought beetroot ever again.

I grew some beetroot this season really to test out how successful they would be in the wicked beds. Yesterday I picked them which meant pickling was imminent.

Many years ago, I was given a simple recipe for pickling beetroot by our friend Linda. It’s had a couple of workouts over the years. Be warned though, simple as it is, it can be messy. I am typing this post with pink fingers.

Pickled Beetroot

Beetroot (I probably had about 1 1/2 kgs)

3 1/2 cups brown sugar

750ml to 1 litre vinegar

Wash the beetroot and leave a small amount of stalk on top.

Boil until tender, cool and peel. I cut mine into quarters/ segments or you can slice. Or even pickle them whole.

Boil the brown sugar and vinegar. You can add some mixed spice or chilli however I think it tastes delicious without anything added.

Add beetroot to sterilised jars, pour in the hot vinegar mix and place lids on the jars. Depending on how many beets you have, you may not need all of the vinegar mix.

I had a plan to enter these into the local show however they didn’t peel easily and I ended up have to cut some of the skin off. They won’t pass muster on appearance this time. That won’t affect the taste though.

Pickling is a great way to make use of a surplus. Tell me about your surplus and how you plan to use it.

4 thoughts on “Beetroot: A Thing of Beauty

Leave a Reply

